S is for Soundtracks

So you’re driving along, doing the mundane life thing, and a song comes on the radio. Not just any song, but a song that automatically makes you think of a specific character or relationship. Or you hear a song and, as the lyrics sink in, you start to formulate an idea for a new story. To me, it’s no coincidence that the root of Music is Muse. Music inspires many things for many different people. Paintings, stories, emotions, moods, determination… the list is endless. Music is inspiration to a creative mind. It can help soothe an injured soul or amp you up when you want to get feisty. One way or another, the right song can move mountains in your mind. THE song can be just what a writer needs in that moment.

thats-my-jam

There is nothing I love, more, than having just the right selection of songs playing softly in the background, fueling the mood of my scenes and giving me just the right feel. If my words can flow with the song, then I will feel I’ve achieved exactly what I wanted. My soundtrack for Deny the Moon really gave it the vibe I was hoping for.

1. Blood by In This Moment (I cannot help but think of how Harley feels about Frank when I listen to this. So much so, that I gave it a little mention in the book, itself.)

2. Animal I Have Become by Three Days Grace

3. Hurt (Dedication to Johnny Cash) by Sevendust

4. Country Song by Seether

5. Saints and Sinners by Godsmack

6. The Hand That Feeds by Nine Inch Nails

7. The Animal by Disturbed

8. Numb by Disturbed

9. Behind Blue Eyes by Limp Bizkit

10. Breathe No More by Evanescence 

11. A Lesson Learned by Limp Bizkit

12. I Will Not Bow by Breaking Benjamin

13. All American Nightmare by Hinder

14. Fever by Peggy Lee

15. Break by Three Days Grace

16. Private Hell by Alice in Chains

17. Corrupt by Depeche Mode

18. I Miss the Misery by Halestorm

19. Forsaken by David Draiman

20. Something to Remind You by Staind

21. Love Her by Seether

22. Gasoline by Seether

23. Uprising by Muse

24. Mad World by Gary Jules

25. Have You Ever Seen The Rain by CCR

26. God’s Gonna Cut You Down by Johnny Cash

27. Better Dig Two by The Band Perry

28. Tornado by Little Big Town

29. Lowlife by Kid Rock

30. Hate Me by Blue October

31. Jar of Hearts by Christina Perri

32. This is Gospel by Panic! at the Disco

33. Sail by Awolnation

This isn’t even the entire list of music I used, but these are the songs that did the most for me and my book. You can see from the selection just what kind of vibe I was going for. What are some songs that have really gotten your muse flowing? Let me know, I love to hear stuff like this. Now, if you’ll excuse me, Take me to Church by Hozier just inspired another story.

4 comments on “S is for Soundtracks

  1. I love “Take Me To The Church” by Hozier. What a wonderful song. And your meme made me LOL. I love it when I drive by someone’s car and they’re totally getting down to whatever song is coming across their loudspeakers. Always makes my day!

  2. I struggle to write without music. At the moment, I am in full-blown struggle mode after a falling out with iTunes. Virtually my entire music selection is lost and I have to start re-ripping the CDs. Who was between laptops and didn’t back-up in time?

  3. I’ve never made a soundtrack for one of my novels, though I love the idea! When I write, if I’m in a public place and need to block the noise, I go for 80’s music that I can ignore because I’ve heard it so often.

    @ShonnaSlayton from
    Shonna Slayton YA Writer – Blogging the 1940’s from A to Z

Leave a Reply

