New Review for Deny the Moon

When you put your work out there, you are opening yourself up to the unknown. Will they love it? Will they hate it? Will they compare it to Stephen King or throw it in the same pile as Fifty Shades of Grey (Eek!)?. Goodreads is an amazing place to go for peer help and feedback from fellow writers and readers alike. My experience there has been pretty unbiased and honest and I have received some great reviews. No complaints at all. Today, I received my newest review and while I am unsure if it is a good or a bad review, I do have to appreciate the fact that it is probably the most honest one I’ve received since publishing my story.

14168515

E. Genelle Edwards, author of The Guardian Chronicles: Guardian, wrote:

I was given a free copy of Deny The Moon, (Wolfblooded), in exchange for a non-reciprocal review.

Deny The Moon is a dark tale spun by Graham that honestly caught me of guard. The book was much like a Quentin Tarantino film where bits and pieces and random events begin to fall together to paint a much larger picture that you were not really expecting or ready to view. However, overall the story punches powerfully into the imagination whether you want it there or not…which to me is a sign of great imagery. Warning to squeamish of heart, Deny The Moon may not be for you as this book is full of very graphic scenes of extreme violence.

The opening prologue was hard for me to follow, but once I was past it the story began to flow at an easier pace that was easier to digest…though the story does bounce back and forth between being written from the perspective of the protagonist, Harley Rayne, and then from a third person point of view. The book also contains some grammatical errors and typos that I had to push aside to get into the story line.

Harley’s family that seems to threat her as “the third wheel” where mother and father both dote over the younger sister, Lorelei. Harley seems to have no sense of belonging so she runs off with a biker that she meets, Frank Essex. We only see two brief encounters with the family and Frank and Harley before Harley makes the decision to leave, so it was hard for me to get into the decision of the character at first. Throughout the story, Frank brutality escalates both towards other people and towards Harley which is hard to understand. What happened to him to make this way? Then there is Liz, Harley’s best friend. They are extremely close until another secret is revealed. Without giving spoilers, Harley’s reaction is understandable, but then Liz seems to write Harley off for a few chapters without any explanation. I love character development and was looking for more! Harley almost seems to have a closer relationship with bouncer friend Jackson. Overall, the main characters, Frank and Harley, bring out very strong reactions in the reader–either you will LOVE them or HATE them because of their manic ways. The book ends with yet another surprise that you never see coming that is meant to set up the next book in the series.

While I enjoy a good paranormal story line, Deny The Moon (Wolfblooded), was not for me, but those who like to take a walk on the dark side would probably enjoy it. I gave the book three stars because the story line was imaginative and left me wanting more from the characters instead of just pushing them aside and moving on.

Firstly, being compared to a Tarantino film blew me away. Personally, I LOVE how Tarantino weaves a story and gives you the unexpected but I do realize that you either love Tarantino or you really hate his work. Will my work be a love it or absolutely hate it type of thing, as well? Well… judging from the “love it” side of Tarantino fans, and knowing just how MUCH they love his work… I got to take this as good. Because even if only half the world loves my book, maybe they will love it enough to make up for the other half? Secondly, I have to respect a woman who reads something outside of her comfort level and still gives an honest review. She judged the book and not the theme or content, which happens far too often, sadly.

Jump on over and give The Guardian Chronicles: Guardian by E. Genelle Edwards a read. From what I see, it is a very intriguing story and I will be giving it a read myself, soon.

Leave a Reply

