Review: Blood and Rain by Glenn Rolfe

So I recently finished a book that surprised me. It didn’t surprise me that it was good, I already had that impression when I first came across the author and looked into it. No, It surprised me because I am not really a Horror fan. I mean, I like Stephen King but that was always more because I grew up knowing his name and, naturally, sort of just liked his stuff. As far as the Horror genre itself, I was always sort of “meh” towards it. They weren’t bad feelings. Just indifferent. I appreciate the genre and what it takes to write and create it but I don’t put it first in my life. I have friendzoned the Horror genre.

I like you, I just don’t feel that way about you.

So, getting back on track, I came across Blood and Rain and pre-ordered a copy. Of course, I spent the cash before I was presented with an opportunity to receive an ARC (advanced review copy) but that’s just the luck I have. I can’t call it bad luck, though. This book was soooo not a disappointment.

If you see something with a strike through, like this, that is because it may be a spoiler. You can skip possible spoilers by just not reading the strikethrough bits of text. You’ve been warned and advised.

bood and rain.jpg

This isn’t the type of werewolf book you’ll find on the YA shelves, covered in teenage angst and glitter. The werewolves in Blood and Rain are the real deal. The real, blood-thirsty, savage, terrifying deal. Vampire-human-werewolf ménage à trois need not apply.

There was little to dislike about this novel and everything to love. However, I like to get the bad news out of the way as soon as possible. If there was one thing that I found difficult about Rolfe’s work, it was that there are SO MANY PEOPLE to keep up with! It could be just a personal taste of mine, but once you get beyond five people, I find myself spending far too much time reading back to make sure I’m visualizing the right person in a given scene.

I love that he brought the whole town in on the terror– after all, it always seems hokey when there’s like two or three people dealing with a living monster yet no one else ever seems to take notice of its existence– but there does come a point when there are too many people vying for the little spotlight. It doesn’t happen too often in this novel, but it does happen.

As far as everything else goes? FAN-FUCKING-TASTIC. There is just the right amount of character building, the right amount of realism, the right amount of blood and gore to keep me riveted throughout the read.

Rolfe manages to make you get to know enough about the many characters involved to care but not focus so much on their day-to-day lives that you feel like you’re never going to get to the juicy parts.

I thoroughly enjoyed each and every attack on the township, though I will have to say that there seemed to be a little bit of repetition here and there. Like how the wolves seem to always attack by jumping on top of cars. It happened a lot. However, it did keep it fresh enough to satisfy and make me wince in sympathy.

Rolfe doesn’t hold back. Like at all (other than gratuitous sex scenes. He seems to take the fade-to-black approach and I can appreciate that. I love gratuitous sex scenes as much as the next girl but this book had a focus and he stuck to it and I think it kept the story on track). If someone needs to be maimed, or even killed, for the sake of the story he lets it happen. I mean he is trying to compete with George R.R. Martin it seems, but I can respect that.

If you are a Horror nut, or even if you just dabble, you will not be disappointed in Blood and Rain. Rolfe brings the werewolf back to its monster roots and satisfies the bloodlusty monster in all of us.

If you would like a peek into the mind of the author, Glenn Rolfe, he was kind enough to stop by my blog for an interview. Don’t forget to check out his other works: Slush, Boom Town,  and Abram’s Bridge and keep your eyes peeled for some future books in the works.

 

One comment on “Review: Blood and Rain by Glenn Rolfe

  1. Pingback: Blood and Rain: Bringing Classic Horror Back | Melissa A. Graham

Leave a Reply

