Book Review: Finding Claire (Hill Country Secrets, Book One) by Pamela Humphrey

32736449

I received an ARC from this author.

This book… wow.

I will start off with stating that this is not my usual preference in genre. I often find myself bored with anything mundane and not magical or supernatural in nature. That being said this book delightfully surprised me!

There was nothing boring about it. The story flowed so well and kept me literally on the edge of my seat. Every time I had to put the book down to do (yuck) real life things, I actually found myself in a near tantrum over having to stop and thinking about the characters in my off time.

Pamela Humphrey knows how to tell a story in a clear, concise, and captivating way and her characters are so realistic and relate-able that I found it hard to think of them merely as characters. She captured the emotions and details of Claire, Alex, and Rainy’s lives very well and makes you care about Claire. She certainly had me DYING to know what happened to her, and the letters from her mother were moving and powerful.

240084

Perhaps a single qualm I may have had was near the end at the “bad guy reveal”. It teetered dangerously close to cliche for me, and the conflict was very quick and resolved very abruptly once we go there, but still that did not take anything away from my enjoyment of this mystery.

All in all very well written and I am now itching for more Alex and Rainy!! Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of Finding Claire, now available at Amazon and other distributors!

 

 

Leave a Reply

